WELCOME GEARUP
PARTICIPANTS

About Us 2018-03-23T08:33:46+00:00

ABOUT US

WHAT IS NEVADA STATE GEAR UP?

Nevada State GEAR UP (Gaining Early Awareness and Readiness for Undergraduate Programs) is a federally funded grant that is designed to increase the number of low-income students who are prepared to enter and succeed in postsecondary education. Generally, students are identified as GEAR UP during their 7th grade year and exposed to GEAR UP activities that continue through high school.

There are 21 high schools and the UNR Dean’s Future Scholars, or approximately 5,500 students, currently included in Nevada State GEAR UP programming. School selection is based on a federally free or reduced lunch rate of 50% or higher.

STATE OR PARTNERSHIP GRANT

There are two types of GEAR UP grants, a state grant and a partnership grant. The state grant typically has a scholarship component and partnership grant does not. For the current Nevada State GEAR UP grant, Nevada received a waiver to the scholarship component. Although, this state grant will not have a federally funded scholarship component, a project objective is to identify scholarship sponsors throughout the duration of the grant.

Our project, Nevada State GEAR UP, which is highlighted throughout this website, is classified as a state grant. For more information about partnership GEAR UP grants in Nevada, please visit UNLV Center for Academic Enrichment & Outreach (CAEO).

NEVADA STATE GEAR UP GOALS

  1. Academic Preparation: Increase academic performance and preparation for postsecondary education
  2. Graduation and College: Increase high school graduation rate and participation in postsecondary education
  3. Knowledge: Increase student and parent/family knowledge of postsecondary education options, preparation, and financing.
  4. College-Going Culture: Create a college-going culture in GEAR UP middle schools to ensure all students have the opportunity, support, guidance, and information to obtain the skills and knowledge necessary to apply for and succeed in postsecondary education

GOVERNOR SANDOVAL’S GEAR UP VISION

  1. Change to culture of targeted schools to ensure students are academically prepared and have the resources to attend and succeed in college.
  2. Increase NSHE involvement in GEAR UP schools to create a smooth transition from secondary to postsecondary for attendance and success.

GET TO KNOW THE TEAM

Alex Porter

Great Basin College (GBC) GEAR UP Ambassador
Email: alex.porter@gbcnv.edu
Hometown: Eureka, NV
READ BIO

Mari Jimenez-Ortiz

Truckee Meadows Community College (TMCC) GEAR UP Ambassador
Email: mjimenezortiz@tmcc.edu
Hometown: Bishop, CA
READ BIO

Emily Crawford

University of Nevada, Reno (UNR) GEAR UP Ambassador
Email: emilycrawford@unr.edu
Hometown: Reno, NV
READ BIO

Vacant

College of Southern Nevada (CSN) GEAR UP Ambassador
Until a new Ambassador is named, use the info below:
Email: kimiko.walton@csn.edu
Hometown: N/A
READ BIO

Nick Mathews

Nevada State College (NSC) GEAR UP Ambassador
Email: nicholas.mathews@nsc.edu
Hometown: Las Vegas, NV
READ BIO

Woody Hoshibata

University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) GEAR UP Ambassador
Email: woody.hoshibata@unlv.edu
Hometown: Wahiawa, Hawai’i
READ BIO

Jason McGill

Western Nevada College (WNC) GEAR UP Ambassador
Email: jason.mcgill@wnc.edu
Hometown: Silver Springs, NV
READ BIO

Juan Garcia

College of Southern Nevada (CSN) Near-Peer Mentor
Email: juan.garcia@csn.edu
Hometown: Las Vegas, NV
READ BIO

Juan Villa Lucero

Truckee Meadows Community College (TMCC) Near-Peer Mentor
Email: jvillalucero@tmcc.edu
Hometown: Ciudad Juarez, Chihuahua
READ BIO

Clark County

Joanie Mares

SPIF at Chaparral High School 
Email: maresj@nv.ccsd.net
Hometown: Las Vegas, NV
READ BIO

Sonza Davis

SPIF at Southeast Career & Technical Academy (SECTA) and East Career & Technical Academy (ECTA)
Email: davissm2@nv.ccsd.net
Hometown: Chicago, IL
READ BIO

Stephanie Herzig

SPIF at Desert Pines High School & Las Vegas High School
Email: herzism@nv.ccsd.net
Hometown: Lefkada, Greece
READ BIO

Barbara Bonilla

SPIF at Del Sol High School and Desert Pines High School 
Email: bonilb@nv.ccsd.net
Hometown: Illinois
READ BIO

Teresa Garzon

SPIF at Chaparral High School 
Email: garzot@nv.ccsd.net
Hometown: Las Vegas, NV
READ BIO

Teresa Garzon

SPIF at Chaparral High School 
Email: garzot@nv.ccsd.net
Hometown: Las Vegas, NV
READ BIO

Elko County

Michelle Koch

SPIF at Jackpot Combined School
Email: skoch@ecsdnv.net
Hometown: Jackpot, NV
READ BIO

David Baker

SPIF at Owyhee Combined School
Email: dbaker@ecsdnv.net
Hometown: Owyhee, NV
READ BIO

Renata Speir

SPIF at Wells Combined School
Email: rspeir@ecsdnv.net
Hometown: Warsaw, Poland
READ BIO

Humboldt County

Vacant

SPIF at McDermitt Combined School
Email:
Hometown: N/A
READ BIO

Lyon County

Shannon Thompson

SPIF for Lyon County
Email: shannonthompson@lyoncsd.org
Hometown: Yerington, NV
READ BIO

Mineral County

Meshanna Huntley

SPIF at Mineral County High School
Email: huntleym@mineral.k12.nv.us
Hometown: Tonopah, NV
READ BIO

Nye County

Crystal Williams

SPIF at Beatty High School
Email: cwilliams@nye.k12.nv.us
Hometown: Amargosa Valley, NV
READ BIO

Lisa Hamrick

SPIF at Pahrump Valley High School
Email: lhamrick@nye.k12.nv.us
Hometown: Pahrump, NV
READ BIO

Shalise Lamb

SPIF at Tonopah High School
Email: slamb@nye.k12.nv.us
Hometown: Hyrum, UT
READ BIO

Pershing County

Lisa Pontius

SPIF at Pershing County High School
Email: lpontius@pershing.k12.nv.us
Hometown: Lovelock, NV
READ BIO

Washoe County

Allison List

SPIF, Dean’s Future Scholars
University of Nevada, Reno
Email: allisonl@unr.edu
Hometown: Elko, NV
READ BIO

Christine Ortegon

SPIF at Hug High School
Email: COrtegon@washoeschools.net
Hometown: Palmdale, CA
READ BIO

Becky Nightingale

SPIF at Wooster High School
Email: rnightingale@washoeschools.net
Hometown: Reno, NV
READ BIO

Samuel Rosales

Graduate Assistant, Dean’s Future Scholars (UNR)
Email: samuelrosales@unr.edu
Hometown: Reno, NV
READ BIO

Ana Villegas

SPIF at Wooster High School
Email: avillegas@washoeschools.net
Hometown: Sparks, NV
READ BIO

Tammy Bolen

Director
Email: tbolen@dov.nv.gov
Hometown: Anchorage, Alaska
READ BIO

Nate Mackinnon

NSHE Vice Chancellor for Community Colleges
Email: nmackinnon@nshe.nevada.edu
Hometown: Chelmsford, MA
READ BIO

Gabriela Verdin

Communications Specialist
Email: gverdin@nevada.unr.edu
Hometown: Santa Ana, CA
READ BIO

Scarlett Spangler

GEAR UP Program Officer
Email: gearup@doe.nv.gov
Hometown: Fremont, CA
READ BIO

Lori Botelho

Assistant Director
Email: lbotelho@doe.nv.gov
Hometown: Minden, NV
READ BIO

MinSun Park

Research Administrator Nevada System of Higher Education
Email: mpark@nshe.nevada.edu
READ BIO

Daniel Villanueva

GEAR UP Ambassador Coordinator
Email: dvillanueva@nshe.nevada.edu
Hometown: Glendora, CA
READ BIO